Teaching.

What even…?

So something happened at work on Friday after I finished teaching my class. I was supposed to update here but didn’t have time to do it, sorry! Too busy with readings and assignments!

The grandfather of one of my students started to ask me what was she learning.

I told him that we were learning about subtraction, but there is a concern because she’s not able to write numbers! However, I managed to make it simpler for her by writing the numbers in dotted lines.

And then all of a sudden, it turns out to be my fault, and him trying to preach me about what I should do as a teacher and about children’s psychology…

…okay

And then I told him I will talk about it to the teacher-in-charge because I’m obviously not in-charge, but he began “tsk, tsk, tsk..” me with his head up high proud, saying that I should be the one planning.

Hold on right here Mister.

We are enrichment teachers. We teach according to what the lesson plan has been organised by the superior. In fact, we only spend 1 hour of your granddaughter’s time, teaching. We are not your main kindergarten teacher who spends the whole day with her.

He talked about how he couldn’t talk to the other teachers because they’re busy (absolutely, especially when you keep on beating about the bush for 30 mins with me, do you think they have the time when they have a bigger class?) and that I have listened to his concerns, and that he has listened (no) to my feelings.

I suggested that I would do extra work for her so that she would practice writing. But guess what?

“She won’t listen to me, to her mummy, to her daddy at home. So she won’t do anything at home even if we said so! She only listens to the teacher especially if the teacher is firm and strict.”

After he said that, I realised that he is trying to push their responsibilities to me just because I am a teacher and he even told me to be strict with her?

THEN WHAT HAVE YOU GUYS BEEN DOING AT HOME?

Education at home is equivalent with education in school. If you don’t or ‘can’t’ discipline your daughter/granddaughter to learn, then what makes you think you have the right to tell me all of this bs?

I told G about all this since he’s in-charge of maths, and he said, “Some people only know how to make babies but have no idea how to educate them!”

The thing is G had advised the grandfather before abt doing practices with his granddaughter, that’s the only way she can catch things up in school! But oh wow, the grandfather complained, “it’s been 3-4 months and I don’t see any difference!”

Well, firstly, it’s a learning journey. Some kids transformed for over 6 months if you’re consistent and patient.

However in your case, Mister Grandpa, you need to discipline and educate her at home as well.. You told me to be strict and firm? Do your part too!

Anyway, G will be talking to the school about the girl’s performance before he called the parents to tell about this issue.

Urgh, I swear some people can be so frustrating!

I’ve never had any guardian talking back at me and “educating” me rudely when I told about the progress of any child. The others listened, understood, asked qns for suggestions and open for ideas, and then thanked me.

But this old man just came up to me, being snobbish and arrogant while talking bs about the bush (it took me so long to be able to get what he’s trying to say I swear), belittling the teacher’s role and responsibilities, and never even say thank you.

Sigh.

2 thoughts on “What even…?”

  1. I gt a real taste for teaching when I taught Sunday school. I know it’s not the same as teaching at an educational institution, but I got a good feel for kids/parents. It was aggravating, especially since our Director said we were not allowed to give “negative criticism” to the parents about the kids, meaning we were not allowed to tell them their kids had a behavioral problem, and I had a couple of those. Anyway, the point of this reply is, I commend you for keeping your cool. And for teaching! It’s a tough job that can often be met with criticism by outsiders that have no idea….

  2. I dont envy you I thought I might like to teach and have done a little tutoring which i know is not the same but god! This man he needs to realise teaching i shard work!

Leave a Reply

